Church Institutions

1. Devamatha College, Kuravilangad (Estd 1964)



Founder: Late Very Rev. Fr. Paul Alappatt in 1964
College Patron: Mar.Joseph Kallarangattu (Bishop of Palai Diocese)
Present Manager: Rev.Dr.Joseph Thadathil (2015 onwards)
Present Principal: Dr.Philip John (2015 onwards)

About College

Deva Matha College, Kuravilangad was found on 3rd April 1964 under the guidance and patronage of the Catholic Diocese of Pala and St. Mary’s Forane Church, Kuravilangad. The parish, St. Mary’s Forane Church, Kuravilangad, has etched her name in the academia of Kerala with the establishment of two High Schools and two LP schools in the latter half of the 18th century and a Higher Secondary School in 1998. Deva Matha College, Kuravilangad was Re-Accredited with ‘A’ Grade by NAAC in September 2011 and is an ISO 9000-2008 certified First Grade Aided Minority College. Affiliated to Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam, it is recognised under section 2(f) and 12B of the UGC Act 1956.

The founders who spearheaded the college had in their minds the glorious task of dispelling darkness and spreading the light of true wisdom all round, irrespective of caste, creed, language or religion, through the dissemination of knowledge and other skills that would mould the young generation into exemplary citizens well equipped to face the challenges of the times. True to its vision and mission, the college today has emerged as a knowledge hub and a leading centre of academic excellence, educating and transforming thousands of students who hail from a purely Agrarian, Rural background.

PG Courses Offered: 

  • M.Com- Started in 1981
  • M.A. English- Started in  1998
  • M.A. Malayalam- Started in  1999
  • M.Sc. Chemistry- (S.F) Started in 2002
  • M.Sc. Physics-    (S.F) Started in 2004
  • M.Sc. Botany-    (S.F) Started in 2004
  • M.Sc. Mathematics- Started in 2013
  • M.Sc. Mathematic-s (S.F)Started in  2014
  • M.B.A.(Off Campus)      

UG Courses Offered:

  • B.Com with Computer Application- Started in 1968
  • B.A. English- Started in 1968
  • B.A. Malayalam- Started in 1981
  • B.A. Economics- Started in 1968
  • BSc Mathamatics- Started in 1968
  • BSc Physics- Started in 1980
  • BSc Chemistry- Started in 1968
  • BSc Botany- Started in 1982
  • BSc Zoology- Started in 1968
  • B.Com with Taxation- (S.F.) 2014
  • Communicative English (S.F.)(Triple Main) 2014

Facilities: Library, Internet Cafe, MultiMedia Centre, Reprographic Centre, Language Lab, Yoga Centre, Ladies Hostel, Canteen

2. St. Mary's Higher Secondary School (Estd 1998)

School Patron: Mar.Joseph Kallarangattu (Bishop of Palai Diocese)
Present Manager: Rev.Dr.Joseph Thadathil (2015 onwards)
Present Principal: A.M. Josekutty
Year of starting:1998
Total No. of Students:300
No. of teaching staff:20

The St.Mary’s Boys High school was Upgraded to the status of Higher Secondary school in 1998. The new building was blessed by Mar Joseph Pallickaparampil. Only boys were admitted first. Girls were admitted only in 2002. Mar Joseph Kallarangatt blessed the Nidhirickal Manikathanar memorial auditorium on 6th June 2004.
Courses available: 
There are Science and humanities batches available.

  • Science- Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology(2 Batches).
  • Humanities – Economics, History, Sociology, Politics(1 Batch)

3. St. Mary’s Boys High School (Estd 1884)

St marys boys high school

School Patron: Mar.Joseph Kallarangattu (Bishop of Palai Diocese)
Present Manager: Rev.Dr.Joseph Thadathil (2015 onwards)
Founder: Nidhirikal Manikathanar
Year of starting:1894 January
Total Number of students : 700
Number of teaching staff: 30
Headmaster: Jose Kuriakose
Educational District: Kaduthuruthy
Educational Sub District:Kuravilangad

One of the first schools started in Central Travancore. The school has its first beginning in January 1894 as English school when Nidhirickal Mani kathanar was the vicar of Marth Mariam Forane Church Kuravilangad. He was the Vicar General of the catholic church of Kerala, the founder of the “Deepika” News Paper, Multi linguist and versatile writer and genius. Respected Sri Sankara Subbayya, the then Divan of Travancore visited the school and declared Government approval and grant. The school was named St.Mary’s Lower Grade Secondary School in 1907. The school was upgraded as upper primary in 1921. In 1924 the school was upgraded as St.Mary’s Boys English High school. The school was upgraded as Higher secondary school in 1998. From 2002 onwards girls were also admitted in the higher secondary section.

Eminent Personalities
St.Mary’s school has given birth to so many eminent personalities in the various phases of the society such as social, cultural economic,political, ecclesiastical etc.,through generations. Among them, the most eminent one is Sri. K.R.Narayanan, the former Hon.President of India,who is an ex alumni of the school from1936-38. We are extremely happy to say that Dr.K.R.Narayanan visited his Alma Mater on 4th September 1993 to inaugurate the centenary celebrations of the school as the Vice President of India. Again in 1997, he visited the school as the president of India. It was really a honour to this institution.
Some of the other eminent persons who studied in this school are: Rev.Dr.Joseph Mittathani, former Arch Bishop of Imphal, Mar George Mamalassry, former Bishop of Toura, Dr. P.J.Thomas, Advisor of Economic Concil of Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Prime Minister of India, Sri.K.P. Joseph, former Accountant General of Kerala, Sri Paul Mannnanikkattt, the former Finance and Revenue Minister of Kerala,etc. are some of the eminent persons who studied in this School.

4. St.Mary's Girls High School (Estd 1919)

St marys girls high school

School Patron: Mar.Joseph Kallarangattu (Bishop of Palai Diocese)
Present Manager: Rev.Dr.Joseph Thadathil (2015 onwards)
Founder:  Rev. Fr. Thomas Puthenpurackal
Year of starting:1919 May
Total Number of students : 890
Number of teaching staff: 33
Headmistress: Rev.Sr. Reeja Mariya
Educational District: Kaduthuruthy
Educational Sub District:Kuravilangad

The school was founded in the name of St.Mary in 1919 with the intention of the education of girls. The beginning was in two rooms of the Carmelite convent under the leadership of the then Vicar Fr. Thomas Puthenpurackal. In 1922 the school had become ‘Malayalam’ Middle School. It was raised to the status of’ English’ Middle School in 1928. The school was recognized as High school on 30-05-1949. The first S.S.L.C. batch appeared in March 1951. There are 33 staff, 5 non teaching staff and almost 900 students in the school. The Golden Jubilee of the school was solemnly celebrated in 2000. The school is prominent both in curricular and extracurricular activities. The school has a record 100% pass in the 2009-2010 S.S.L.C. examination. The school has a unique place in Sports, Work Experience and Kalamelas and Science and Mathematics Exhibitions.

5. St. Mary’s Boys LP School (Estd 1905)

Founder :Rev.Fr.Mani Mappilaparampil in 1905
Centenary celebrations: 1905-2005
Present Manager: Rev.Dr. Joseph Thadathil
Present Headmistress: Mrs. Kusumam Baby.

Our school is at the first place in the 2010-2011 academic year in both academic and extracurricular activities in the Kuravilangad sub district. There are both Malayalam and English medium divisions in the school. There are 250 students and 8 teachers. Besides, special teachers are provided for computer,yoga,work experience, physical; education, music etc. computer- internet facilities are available. Noon feeding for the students is done in a better manner. Attractive premises and strong P.T.A. are noteworthy. The school is moving forward with its rich heritage of having formed a number of eminent personalities.

6. St.Marys Girls LP School (Estd 1919) 

St Marys Girls LP School


Present Manager: Rev.Dr. Joseph Thadathil
Founder: Fr.Thomas Puthenpurackal
Total Number of students : 300
Number of teaching staff: 10
Headmistress: Rev.Sr. Linet

The school for girls only began functioning under the management of St.Mary’s Forane Church on May 15, 1919. The school has its origin in the two room of Carmelite convent. The school was given to the convent in 1920 from the church. Now the school functions in the building built by the church in 1950 when Fr.Thomas Puthenpurackal was the Vicar. There were 14 divisions up to 1982. Sr. Mary Beningaa, the famous Malayalam Poetess was the first Head Mistress of the school. English Medium divisions started in 2003. The Computer Lab was inaugurated in 2004. At present there are 300 students and 9 staff including a computer instructor.

Achievements
The school was selected as the ‘Model school’ in the Kottayam District in 1988-1The school was selected as the ‘Model school’ in the Kottayam District in 1988-1989. Again it was the Model School’ in the kuravilangd Gramapanchayath in 1993-1994 academic year. This school awarded the Best School Trophy. The school is first and foremost both in curricular and extracurricular activities such as sports, arts, work experience, youth festival etc. The school won the overall championship in the Sub District youth Festival in 2009-2010 also.